Actor in a Leading Role

  • Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea). (WINNER)
  • Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw RIDGE).
  • Ryan Gosling (La La Land).
  • Viggo Mortensen (Captain FANTASTIC).
  • Denzel Washington (Fences).

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Mahershala Ali (MOONLIGHT). (WINNER)
  • Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water).
  • Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea).
  • Dev Patel (Lion).
  • Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals).

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Isabelle Huppert (Elle).
  • Ruth Negga (Loving).
  • Natalie Portman (Jackie).
  • Emma Stone (La La Land). (WINNER)
  • Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Viola Davis (Fences). (WINNER)
  • Naomie Harris (Moonlight).
  • Nicole Kidman (Lion).
  • Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures).
  • Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea).

Animated Feature Film

  • Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner (Kubo and the Two Strings).
  • John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer (Moana).
  • Claude Barras and Max Karli (My Life as a Zucchini).
  • Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki (The Red Turtle).
  • Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer (Zootopia). (WINNER)


  • Bradford Young (Arrival).
  • Linus Sandgren (La La Land). (WINNER)
  • Greig Fraser (LION)
  • James Laxton (Moonlight).
  • Rodrigo Prieto (Silence).

Costume Design

  • Joanna Johnston (Allied).
  • Colleen Atwood (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them). (WINNER)
  • Consolata Boyle (Florence Foster Jenkins)
  • Madeline Fontaine (Jackie).
  • Mary Zophres (La La Land).


  • Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)
  • Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge).
  • Damien Chazelle (La La Land). (WINNER)
  • Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea).
  • Barry Jenkins (Moonlight).

Documentary (Feature)

  • Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo (Fire at Sea).
  • Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety and Hébert Peck (I Am Not Your Negro).
  • Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman (Life, Animated).
  • Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow (J.: Made in America).(WINNER)
  • Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish (13th).

 Documentary (Short Subject)

  • Dan Krauss (Extremis).
  • Daphne Matziaraki (1 Miles).
  • Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen (Joe’s Violin).
  • Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis (Watani: My Homeland).
  • Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara (The White Helmets). (winner)

Film Editing

  • Joe Walker (Arrival).
  • John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge). (WINNER)
  • Jake Roberts (Hell or High WateR).
  • Tom Cross (La La Land).
  • Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon (Moonlight).

Foreign Language Film

  • Denmark (Land of Mine).
  • Sweden (A Man Called Ove).
  • Iran (The Salesman). (WINNER)
  • Australia (Tanna).
  • Germany (Toni Erdmann).

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Eva von Bahr and Love Larson (A Man Called Ove).
  • Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo (Star Trek Beyond).
  • Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (Suicide Squad). (WINNER)

Music (Original Score)

  • Mica Levi (Jackie).
  • Justin Hurwitz (La La Land). (WINNER)
  • Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka (Lion).
  • Nicholas Britell (Moonligh).
  • Thomas Newman (Passengers).

Music (Original Song)

  • Audition (The Fools Who Dream) – (from La La Land; Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul).
  • Can’t Stop The Feeling (from Trolls; Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster).
  • City of Stars (from La La Land; Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul). (WINNER)
  • The Empty Chair (from Jim: The James Foley Story; Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting).
  • How Far I’ll Go (from Moana; Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda ).

Best Picture

  • Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder and David Linde, Producers (Arrival).
  • Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington and Todd Black, Producers (Fences).
  • Bill Mechanic and David Permut, Producers (Hacksaw Ridge).
  • Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn, Producers (Hell or High Water).
  • Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams and Theodore Melfi, Producers (Hidden Figures).
  • Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt, Producers (La La Land).
  • Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Angie Fielder, Producers (Lion).
  • Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck and Kevin J. Walsh, Producers (Manchester by the Sea).
  • Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner, Producers (Moonlight). (WINNER)

Production Design

  • Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Paul Hotte (Arrival).
  • Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them).
  • Production Design: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh (Hail, Caesar!).
  • Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco (La La Land). (WINNER)
  • Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena (Passengers).

Short Film (Animated)

  • Theodore Ushev (Blind Vaysha).
  • Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj (Borrowed Time).
  • Robert Valley and Cara Speller (Pear Cider and Cigarettes).
  • Patrick Osborne (Pearl).
  • Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer (Piper). (WINNER)

Short Film (Live Action)

  • Sélim Azzazi (Ennemis Intérieurs).
  • Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff (La Femme et le TGV),
  • Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson (Silent Nights).
  • Kristof Deák and Anna Udvardy (Sing). (WINNER)
  • Juanjo Giménez (Timecode).

Sound Editing

  • Sylvain Bellemare (Arrival). (WINNER)
  • Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli (Deepwater Horizon).
  • Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright (Hacksaw Ridge).
  • Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan (La La Land).
  • Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman (Sully).

Sound Mixing

  • Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye (Arrival).
  • Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace (Hacksaw Ridge). (WINNER)
  • Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow (La La Land).
  • David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story).
  • Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth (13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi).

Visual Effects

  • Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton (Deepwater Horizon).
  • Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould (Doctor Strange).
  • Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon (The Jungle Book). (WINNER)
  • Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff (Kubo and the Two Strings).
  • John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story).

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

  • Screenplay by Eric Heisserer (Arrival).
  • Screenplay by August Wilson (Fences).
  • Screenplay by Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi (Hidden Figures).
  • Screenplay by Luke Davies (Lion).
  • Screenplay by Barry Jenkins; Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight). (WINNER)

Writing (Original Screenplay)

  • Written by Taylor Sheridan (Hell or High Water).
  • Written by Damien Chazelle (La La Land).
  • Written by Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou (The Lobster).
  • Written by Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea). (WINNER)
  • Written by Mike Mills (20th Century Women).